Skip to main content

Valley View Elementary School

Main Menu Toggle
Curriculum Resources » Student Age Appropriate Development

Student Age Appropriate Development

Student Age Appropriate Development

 Children pass through several stages and take specific steps on their road to becoming adults. For most people, there are four or five such stages of growth where they learn certain things: infancy (birth to age two), early childhood (ages 3 to 8 years), later childhood (ages 9 to 12) and adolescence (ages 13 to 18).
Go to the grade level links on the left for an overview of child development from kindergarten through fifth grade. This information is presented to help parents understand what to expect from their child and what their child will learn at each grade level.


With parents, children, and the school community working together as a team, children can achieve success at school, at home and in the community.
Please Note: The developmental time frames and information presented here are averages and some children may achieve various developmental milestones earlier or later than the average but still be within the normal range.